The Master Care and Technology consists of 16 modules. Each one focuses on a distinct area of knowledge and procedures. 

Types of modules

As their titles indicate, there are three types of modules:

  1. Content information (1A, 2A, 3A, 3B, 4A, 5A; 28 EC in total) These modules focus on specific “state of the art” subjects.
  2. Application of methods (1B, 2B, 4B, 5B, 6A, 6B; 34 EC in total) These modules focus on the use of research and development tools in development, implementation and evaluation.
  3. How to organize your research (1C, 3C, 5C, 7; 28 EC in total) These modules focus on applying knowledge of research and design in the student’s own workplace.

Students complete the learning cycle by writing and defending a Master’s thesis.


Module content

The module content covers the following distinctive knowledge areas:

User orientation (1A, 2A, 3A; 15 EC in total)

How to pave the way for development of new care and technology applications from a user perspective (in contrast to the current, technology-driven approach).

business (2B, 3B, 4B; 14 EC in total)

From a business perspective, which conditions have to be taken into account for successful development.

Innovation (1B, 4A, 5A; 17 EC in total)

How to organize an overhaul of a care and technology process.

Implementation (5B; 7 EC in total)

How to put a planned overhaul into practice.

Improving your workplace (1C, 3C, 5C, 6A, 6B, 7; 37 EC in total)

How to apply new insights at work.